Contrary to popular belief, New York State residents may possess pistols and carry them concealed, provided they have a valid pistol permit. Pistol permits are issued at the county level and are necessary to carry a handgun, whether for personal or employment purposes. Permit holders are limited to carrying only the handguns listed on their permit.
To qualify for New York pistol permits the applicant must be at least 21 years old, have no felony record and be mentally stable. Applications must be submitted in the individual's primary county of residence, nonresidents are ineligible for pistol permits. The application includes character references, photographs and fingerprints. The time frame for processing applications varies by county and can take anywhere from three to nine months.
Magazine Capacity Restrictions
New York State limits the magazine capacity of new handguns to 10 rounds. However, using high capacity magazines that were manufactured before September 13, 1994 is permissible. Use or ownership of high capacity magazines manufactured after that date is a class D felony.
Pistols may be transferred between individual permit holders, or state licensed gun dealers. In the event a permit holder dies, a grace period of 15 days is granted to allow the estate to legally transfer the handguns to a permit holder or gun dealer; if the guns are not transferred, they will be placed in storage by the presiding law enforcement agency.
A New York State pistol permit authorizes the holder to carry a concealed loaded handgun anywhere in the state except New York City. New York State pistol permits are honored in 14 other states including: Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Vermont. New York State does not recognize carry permits from other states.
- two pistols image by Kovac from Fotolia.com