Explore America's Campgrounds
To sell firearms in Michigan, just like any other state, you must be licensed. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, better known as the ATF, is responsible for reviewing firearm license applications. Before applying, you must obtain a business location and have a business license. The premises will be inspected by an ATF officer as part of the application process. Once approved for a license to sell, you must be approved by state officials for a license to purchase.
Obtain an "Application for Federal Firearms License" with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) to sell and transport firearms within the state. The application can be downloaded online. To obtain an application by mail or in person, contact the ATF at one of the following Michigan offices: Detroit, 313-202-3400 or Grand Rapids, 616-301-6100.
Complete the "Application for Federal Firearms License." The application will require information concerning yourself, such as your full name and that of any partners, social security number, date of birth, race, sex, address, immigration status, the admission of a felony or misdemeanor conviction, whether you or your partners are subject to a court restraining order and whether you or your partners are addicted to a substance. In addition, information about the business such as the business address, the hours of intended operation and what type of license you will be obtaining must also be supplied.
Make four copies of the completed application. One copy will be submitted to ATF; the other will go to your local law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over the area where the business is located. Two copies are for your personal records.
Obtain two 2x2 (passport size) photographs for any person on the license application. The photographs will need to be submitted with the application. Make sure to not send a picture wearing sunglasses, a hat or uniform.
Complete two fingerprint cards for every person on the license. The fingerprint card can be completed at the police station that has jurisdiction over the area where the business is located. The fingerprint card will indicate your name, social security number, date of birth, physical characteristics such as your height, weight and race, eye color, hair color; the reason for the fingerprint--firearms license--and the actual fingerprints. Be sure to obtain two copies of the fingerprint card from the law enforcement agency.
Complete the ATF's "Certificate of Compliance." This application certifies your citizenship or nonimmigrant status. Another person must complete part of the application certifying your citizenship status.
Submit the "Application for Federal Firearms License," two fingerprint cards, two photographs and Certificate of Compliance to ATF, plus include the applicable license fee. A basic license which allows you to sell firearms will cost $200 as of 2010. A $30 fee is assessed if you want to sell ammunition. Include a check made payable to "Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives," or enter your debit or credit card details on the application.
Send completed application materials and fee to:
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives PO Box 409567 Atlanta, GA 30384-9567 USA
Comply with further application requirements. After the application materials are submitted, an ATF officer will contact you to ask further questions about the application, and you can also expect to have your business records and premises inspected by an ATF officer. Once you have been approved for a Federal Firearms License, you can obtain a license to purchase.
Apply for a "License to Purchase" firearms with the local Michigan police agency that has jurisdiction over where the business will be located. You can't purchase firearms for resale without this license unless purchasing from a firearm wholesaler. Contact the local police agency for the necessary forms, or contact the State Police Department at 517-322-5518. The forms are not available online.
Apply for a Michigan sales tax license. The "518" sales tax form is required. Enter your name and contact information on the form. Also indicate the date that the business was formed and the date that you plan to start doing business in the state. The form can be downloaded online, or call the Michigan Department of Treasury at 517-636-4660 and have a form mailed to you.
Si Kingston has been an online content contributor since 2004, with work appearing on websites such as MadeMan. She is a professional screenwriter and young-adult novelist and was awarded the Marion-Hood Boesworth Award for Young Fiction in 2008. Kingston holds a Bachelor of Arts in English from Mills College.